The World According to ChickLitGurrl™

Where the WORD is IT :: Editorial/Writing Assistance offered by author, editor, educator Shōn Bacon

Author Jerry Waxler Discusses Memoir Writing at AtBaP January 27, 2009

Filed under: All the Blog's a Page,Shon Bacon — Shon @ 1:14 pm
Tags: , , ,

For the month of JANUARY, All the Blog’s a Page (AtBaP) has been looking at memoir writing, and for our final feature of the month, I’m thrilled to introduce Jerry Waxler, M.S., author of Learn to Write Your Memoir in Four Weeks!

For January, I asked the following set of questions:

  • What do you think is the lure of memoirs for readers?
  • Do you think there is a bit of egotism on the part of the writer who focuses on memoirs as a means to “tell stories”?
  • Why did you, as writer, feel compelled to write your story
  • Why did you feel compelled to share this story with others?

In answering the question, Why did you feel compelled to share this story with others, Waxler states, “This is a huge question. Why does any writer want readers? Stephen King says in his memoir, “On Writing” that writing is a sort of magic that transmits ideas from one person’s mind into another. I love this idea. By writing, I can share my thoughts, initiating an intimate connection with people I can’t even see. That begs the question, “Why should I want to do that?” I’m not sure exactly of the reason, but I am sure of the result. Extending my writing to a public audience has turned into the most exciting project in my life. In exchange for the hours I sit at my desk putting words on paper, I am instantly rewarded by the pleasure of creativity. Over time, my world has become richer, thanks to a network of readers and writers. And part of my payoff is the fantastic notion that somehow, through my writing, I will be able to serve people.”

To read the rest of Jerry Waxler’s thoughts on memoirs and to read excellent excerpts from Learn to Write Your Memoir in Four Days and Four Elements for Writers: How to Get Beyond “Yes-But,” Conquer Self-Doubt and Inertia, and Achieve Your Writing Goals, head to All the Blog’s a Page!

While there, check out the other stellar feature authors for this month: Annette Fix, K.L. Belvin, Versandra Kennebrew, and CD Mitchell!

ALL THE BLOG’S A PAGE (AtBaP) – Where everything relates to writing
[http://alltheblogsapage.blogspot.com]

 

Leave a Reply

