The World According to ChickLitGurrl™

Where the WORD is IT :: Editorial/Writing Assistance offered by author, editor, educator Shōn Bacon

Author CD Mitchell on Memoir Writing @ AtBaP January 2, 2009

Filed under: All the Blog's a Page,craft,the writing life — Shon @ 12:44 pm
Tags: , , ,

HAPPY NEW YEAR, EVERYBODY! HOPE ’09 BRINGS YOU ACHIEVED GOALS AND MUCH HAPPINESS!

For the month of JANUARY, All the Blog’s a Page (AtBaP) is looking at memoir writing, and we kick off the new year with one of my dear friends and my second “husband” (there’s a story there, trust me), author CD Mitchell!


CD is the Blues Brothers holding the beer bottle.

For January, I asked the following set of questions:

  • What do you think is the lure of memoirs for readers?
  • Do you think there is a bit of egotism on the part of the writer who focuses on memoirs as a means to “tell stories”?
  • Why did you, as writer, feel compelled to write your story
  • Why did you feel compelled to share this story with others?

CD wrote a piece titled “The Lure of Memoir,” from which he writes, “Memoir is not the genre of self-promotion. In memoir, we do not take a podium and say “I did this! I am great!” We instead take the podium and say, “This happened to me. Please forgive my ignorance. I have learned from the experience and am a better person as a result. Forgive me for what I was before; learn from what I am now.”

“Memoir does not attempt to exalt the writer or to elevate the writer to some lofty, unattainable status over his reader. Instead, we seek to find common ground with our misery and mistakes. Instead of creating envy in our readers, we seek to establish a universal moment where the reader can see himself in the author’s words and can say “I understand how you feel.” The memoirist seeks to create empathy, common ground, and a realization that we all can do better.

“Perhaps the memoirist’s code should be the scripture that “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.””

To read the rest of CD Mitchell’s “The Lure of Memoir” and to take a sneak peek into his column “Why Do I Write,” head to All the Blog’s a Page!

ALL THE BLOG’S A PAGE (AtBaP) – Where everything relates to writing
[http://alltheblogsapage.blogspot.com]

 

Leave a Reply

