The World According to ChickLitGurrl™

Where the WORD is IT :: Editorial/Writing Assistance offered by author, editor, educator Shōn Bacon

Guess Who’s Been Interviewed? November 30, 2008

Yep, you got it: MOI! 🙂

My currently publisher, LADY LEO PUBLISHING, is showcasing an interview with me! Below is an excerpt.

LLP: How do you come up with your characters?
SB: Pieces of my characters come from me. Typically, something happens in my world or the world of someone I love that sticks with me, that picks with me, and I have to write that situation out. When that happens, I take pieces of me that are connected with that situation and start the process of developing the main character. From there, I branch out and develop those characters that are necessary to get through that story. Many times, pieces of loved ones (and not so loved ones) are used to develop these characters.

LLP: Are the characters based on real life situations?
SB: Sometimes, yes. I’ve never written a 100% real story; however, many of my characters are composites of people I know, and many of the situations are snatches from real life situations.

LLP: What excites you most about being a writer?
SB: The spinning of a new story. When I get a new idea, nothing excites me more. I can barely sleep, and my biggest concern is outlining the story so that I can jump in and play with my characters.

To read the rest of the interview, be sure to head to [Lady Leo Publishing] now!

 

Leave a Reply

