The World According to ChickLitGurrl™

Where the WORD is IT :: Editorial/Writing Assistance offered by author, editor, educator Shōn Bacon

The CHICKLITGURRL in The World According to ChickLitGurrl™ October 25, 2008

Filed under: chicklitgurrl,publicity — Shon @ 9:11 pm
Tags:

A lot of people ask me how I came up with the name ChickLitGurrl as my online moniker.  Initially, it was for a girl (me) who was a fan of Chick Lit.  It soon grew from that to a girl (me again) who loved literature by chicks (women, obviously).  It has kept parts of both definitions and now adds to it a girl (yep, me again) who loves writing literature about chicks (yes, women).

With that love of reading and writing women’s fiction, I started the blog ChickLitGurrl:  high on LATTES & WRITING (CLG) where I have interviewed and promoted women authors since 2005.

That love of showcasing women writers branched into wanting to help all writers.  This can be seen in the editing I do for clients, the Writers Boot Camp class that I offer, and the columns I write on various aspects of writing – all of while, I hope, will aid writers in developing their craft and achieving their literary dreams.

My latest foray into helping support writers comes in the form of a new blog – All the Blog’s a Page (AtBaP):  where EVERYTHING relates to writing.  In this monthly blogging series, I play moderator to a group of writers.  I pick a topic, pose a question, and ask the writers to respond by tying the topic to their writing.  AtBaP began in August 2008, and has tackled the topics of faith, sex, and being male.  In November, we’ll look at being female, and end the year by looking at homosexuality and writing.

SO, at the end of the day, when it’s asked, “What is ChickLitGurrl?  Who is ChickLitGurrl?” I answer that ChickLitGurrl is a wordsmith who believes that one of her literary goals is to help other writers achieve their literary dreams – via interviews, features, and articles (all of which are free)…and editing and Writers Boot Camp (which aren’t free – lol – but are VERY reasonable!).

This blog site will offer information regarding my editorial and story development services as well as showcase the interviews, features, articles, and other things I’m doing to help writers.

If you’re a writer looking to connect with someone like me, then get to it! 🙂

 

4 Responses to “The CHICKLITGURRL in The World According to ChickLitGurrl™”

  1. i’m diggin’ your vibe. just wanted to pass along a link to my new short story. thanks for giving so much love to writing.
    http://colorlines.com/article.php?ID=443

  2. Thanks for the comment, 🙂 On my way to the story now!

  3. Kendall Says:

    I’m a new writer. I don’t live in an area where creative writing courses exist. I’ve tried a few books and none of them help or maybe I just need to dig a little more deeper. I have several questions about this writing thing can you help me? Puuullleeezzzzeeee help me,lol.

  4. Hey there, Kendall…if you have questions, ask away. If I have the answers, I’m all for helping.


Leave a Reply

