The World According to ChickLitGurrl™

Where the WORD is IT :: Editorial/Writing Assistance offered by author, editor, educator Shōn Bacon

What’s going on with the writing? June 18, 2008

Filed under: life,the writing life,writings — Shon @ 1:51 pm
Tags: , , ,

Well, I haven’t written the last day or two, but I did ALMOST finish chapter two of my new manuscript, EMPTY SWINGS.

My goal is to finish this novel by the first, second week of July. It’s a smaller book, geared towards Harlequin’s Steeple Hill Love Inspired imprint, so it shouldn’t be hard to finish. I’ve outlined the book on note cards, so I’m halfway there, LOL

I’m anxiously waiting to hear what the readers of my screenplay THE PROBLEM WITH BEING HAPPY think of it. I’m going to take their thoughts and do a final revision/edit of the screenplay before submitting like a wild banshee.

My last BIG project of 2008 is a lofty one. For it, I have to do a lot of reading, rereading, and researching. It’s going to be a collection of essays and short stories based on quotes from my favorite women writers, the writers who have tapped into my womanly and writerly soul. The authors: Sylvia Plath, Anne Sexton, Virginia Woolf, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, and Toni Morrison. I’ll be busy this summer rereading stories and poetry and biographies, taking notes on material, gathering my quotes, and organizing the collection. It’s my biggest project to do in terms of all that it entails, but I’m excited about it, 🙂

What’s going on in your writerly world?

 

2 Responses to “What’s going on with the writing?”

  1. Bizarre JC Says:

    I can’t wait to read EMPTY SWINGS. You writing project is interesting. Good luck with both.

    My writing world, ha ha…I’m currently looking up Bible verses to help with my novel I will start working on next month. It’s a Christian fiction piece and to be able to sound like I know what I’m talking about.

    I will start outlining another novel for November having to do with a big girl who is secure in her skin. I’m not sure what else I’ll be putting in there, but the heroine will definitely be a big girl. Maybe I’ll continue on the life of Vicki from VALENTINE LOVE. Planning her wedding after finding out her best friend’s brother was in love.

    That’s it for now.

  2. Hey Ms. JC, 🙂

    I liked Valentine Love; maybe you could consider developing it into a full blown novel? With subplots and all that jazz?


Leave a Reply

